Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Population?  (Read 741 times)

Thor2axe

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Population?
« on: April 26, 2009, 06:56:09 pm »

There seems to be something wrong with my immigration, but I cannot figure out what. I checked the wiki, and there might just be a glitch. I have been hovering just over 50 dwarfs for more than 2 years, and have not had more than 2 immigrants come at any given time. I have over 1 million created wealth, and it just keeps getting higher at a faster rate. I have never lost that many dwarfs, maybe 10 total.

Whats up with that? And is it possible to bypass the population requriements fo some of the nobles?

Argonnek

• Bay Watcher
  • Surging Forward
    • View Profile
Re: Population?
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2009, 07:46:10 pm »

Check your init settings, maybe you set the population cap lower at some point in the past. I don't think you can bypass noble settings, they might be hardcoded

Smew

• Bay Watcher
  • I'll kill you with my bear face.
    • View Profile
    • Deep Games for Deep Gamers
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2009, 07:47:42 pm »

Yup, noble settings are hardcoded at the moment, the only thing you can really bypass is the siege population requirement.

Thor2axe

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2009, 07:31:45 pm »

I checked my init, and thats definitly not it. Plus, I have a changing population, I just never get more than one or two migrants, and often lose maybe one or two people a year, so I am not really gaining population.

I keep producing artifacts, as well as lots of metal and glass products, so I know I am making lots of wealth. Could that one or two deaths be the problem? Oh, and the elves have never left alive. I think that should actually attract migrants.

Untelligent

• Bay Watcher
  • I eat flesh!
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2009, 09:32:08 pm »