Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Migration questions  (Read 516 times)

Stumpo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Migration questions
« on: April 18, 2009, 08:20:09 pm »

So, being a noob, I want to limit migration, get the fort sorted, and maybe then think about expanding.

The standard fix for this seems to be in the init file, I edit the pop cap to 15 ( a reasonable number of dwarfs it seemed to me, as long as the surrounding were not too deadly ). The first wave of migration, brings my population to 21, wonderful, except i have made 15 bedrooms and other arrangements for a group of 15. I was maybe planning on re-editing the init file later to increase the cap, but a few years down the line.

Did I do something wrong? I edited the init file, then generated the world ( the first world in this game ). Do I nned to do something more? Am I going to be reduced to digging a huge channel around the map in my first year?

Thanks in advance for any help I receive from the learned dwarfs resident here.

Opirian

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Migration questions
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2009, 08:24:00 pm »

Hmmm I guess if I just read the wiki right you won't have anymore immigration with a pop of 21 even though the cap is set at 15... and also the immigration can go over the cap depending on how many dorfs arrive (and if it goes over it stop future immigration), im not sure if I understood the wiki right
Don't go drowning your boss for telling you to work.

damn nobles management.
Minedstockades

Stumpo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2009, 08:26:07 pm »

Ah, so the trigger for migration is controlled by the cap, but not the number of migrants? Interesting, I will continue onwards and see if you are right.

Also thanks for the uber speedy response.

Opirian

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2009, 08:28:54 pm »