Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Preventing Cave Adapation  (Read 1771 times)

TerminatorII

• Bay Watcher
  • [PREFSTRING:Adamantine Skeleton]
    • View Profile
Preventing Cave Adapation
« on: April 08, 2009, 04:29:14 pm »

So I want to prevent it. I have never tried this before, so here is what I think will work please let me know if it will/won't work. I am producing green glass blocks to build a floor over channeled out room(meeting area) to let in light.

Is there a better/easier way?
No, I think the cook would be in charge of sugar-coating the cows.

You are a lifesaver! Round and probably in tropical flavors.

Smew

• Bay Watcher
  • I'll kill you with my bear face.
    • View Profile
    • Deep Games for Deep Gamers
Re: Preventing Cave Adapation
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2009, 05:05:44 pm »

It won't prevent cave adaption, Cave adaption has to do with the inside/outside tag from what I know.
The only way to really fight cave adaption is to have a lot of outside areas, but this can also make some areas of the fortress inaccessible, unless you build access tunnels as well.

pokute

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2009, 05:11:06 pm »

Above ground meeting area (zone)
If history wasn't written by the victors, humanity's failures would be self-evident.

Mechanoid

• Bay Watcher
  • [INTELLIGENT]
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2009, 06:01:34 pm »

Dig a hole through the ground into an area that contains statues.
Then designate the statues as meeting areas. Alternately, cut some hallway-spanning strips of earth out above your main hallway, or the hallway between the bedrooms and the food/booze stockpile.

As long as they pass through the area, it should slow or stop cave adaption.
Quote from: Max White
"Have all the steel you want!", says Toady, "It won't save your ass this time!"

Puck

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile