Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Dwarf Manager for OSX/Linux  (Read 3466 times)

RadPanda

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Dwarf Manager for OSX/Linux
« on: February 22, 2009, 01:19:41 pm »

I recently discovered Mono through dfma, which unless my noob eyes deceive me emulates the .net framework on unix systems.

It struck me that this could also be used to run dwarf manager, and Huzzah, I can get it to open.

However, there is the small issue of detecting the DF executable and plugging the correct memory offsets into it. (40d9 on OSX, in my case.)

As I mentioned before, I'm a bit of a newbie, and so don't know how to find these myself. Are there any kind souls out there who know how to do this, are willing to do it for the DFonsomethingotherthanwindows community, or point me in the right direction towards finding this mystical knowledge on my own?

I'm in the process of teaching myself C/Unix, and this looks like a cool project. That being said, though, I'm not very far past "Hello, world!"...

Thanks.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2009, 12:37:56 am by RadPanda »

corvvs

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Dwarf Manager for OSX/Linux
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2009, 02:12:27 am »

I recently discovered Mono through dfma, which unless my noob eyes deceive me emulates the .net framework on unix systems.

It struck me that this could also be used to run dwarf manager, and Huzzah, I can get it to open.

However, there is the small issue of detecting the DF executable and plugging the correct memory offsets into it. (40d9 on OSX, in my case.)

As I mentioned before, I'm a bit of a newbie, and so don't know how to find these myself. Are there any kind souls out there who know how to do this, are willing to do it for the DFonsomethingotherthanwindows community, or point me in the right direction towards finding this mystical knowledge on my own?