Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: How to keep drinks up without micro-management?  (Read 3256 times)

CJ1145

• Bay Watcher
  • *Insert Meme Here*
    • View Profile
How to keep drinks up without micro-management?
« on: January 16, 2009, 05:10:02 pm »

Started my first fortress that didn't suck the other day. Starting fourth year and doing really well, but it's starting to get annoying telling the stills to make drinks every five seconds. Is there some way to set to automatically make drinks when possible, or would I need a dwarfputer for this, as I'm still a newbie at fortress mode.
This being Homestuck, I'm not sure whether that's post-scratch Rose or Vriska with a wig.

Mephansteras

• Bay Watcher
  • Forger of Civilizations
    • View Profile
Re: How to keep drinks up without micro-management?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2009, 05:13:43 pm »

Go to the [j]ob->[m]anager->[q]ueue up 30 jobs to Brew Drinks. That'll keep issuing orders to the still until 30 batches have been made. You can add as many jobs to the queue as you need.

This also works for...well...most things in the game. The Job Manager is your friend. Use it well and often.
Civilization Forge Mod v2.80: Adding in new races, equipment, animals, plants, metals, etc. Now with Alchemy and Libraries! Variety to spice up DF! (For DF 0.34.10)
Come play Mafia with us!
"Let us maintain our chill composure." - Toady One

magic dwarf

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2009, 06:34:55 pm »

you probably (definitely)  know this, so i apologize if this insults your intelligence, but just in case... if you push the (r)epeat button it will keep doing it until it becomes impossible to complete the task.

Captain Xenon

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2009, 07:06:10 pm »