Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: MUDs  (Read 7866 times)

lumin

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
MUDs
« on: October 06, 2008, 11:53:20 am »

I thought I'd start a thread about MUDs, MUCKs, MUSHs and everything in between.  Post one of your favorites and tell us why.

Maybe, if anyone is interested, we could start a guild or clan on one of them.

Every so often I get a hankering to play a text-based MMO.  They lack graphics, but have far more depth than the modern  ones.  They are free 99% of the time, but some allow you to buy credits for stuff (not my favorite type of MUD).

Right now, I just started playing Realms of Despair.  It's considered to be one of the fathers, if not THE father, of Smaug-based MUDs.  It's pretty fun, based on a sword & sorcery world, but not incredibly innovative.  I'm using Portal to play.  It's a very good, free MUD client.

I've also dabbled in RetroMud a little.  The strong-point of this game is the massive number of classes and races.  You first pick a basic class at first, like a Thief, but then around level 13 can extend your class to a related branch, like Assassin or swashbuckler.  Races are extremely varied.  There is a whale race and an insect-like race that has many limbs for carrying tons of stuff.  The only thing that kept me away from RetroMud is that it sort of requires you to group a lot.

So what do you guys play?
« Last Edit: October 06, 2008, 12:01:23 pm by lumin »

Tormy

• Bay Watcher
  • I shall not pass?
    • View Profile
Re: MUDs
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2008, 11:56:17 am »

It's a shame but I never played with any MUDs... :-X
I might try out one actually. I just don't have any clue that which MUD is good enough to spend my precious freetime on it.

Rhodan

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2008, 12:08:34 pm »