Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Critiquing my 18x18 Tileset  (Read 1284 times)

Teeto_K

• Bay Watcher
  • Deforesting Woodland Biomes
    • View Profile
Critiquing my 18x18 Tileset
« on: October 01, 2008, 12:59:48 am »

Back when I started playing DF, I was new, and fresh, and VERY intimidated by the default Ascii graphics. Then, I discovered the Dystopian Rhetoric graphics pack that came with Guybrush Square 16x16 installed with it. And life was good.

The character set was brilliant, well made, obviously the product of hard work and forethought, and I got great use out of it, but over time, something began to bother me: My monitor was 1440x900, and these were the days before [GRID] and [FULLGRID] in the init file, so my DF window wasn't as big as it could have been.

I NEEDED to have my DF window fill the screen. It was driving, and driving me mad. So, I did some math, and discovered that a 18x18 tileset would fill my screen horizontally. So, I went to the wiki, and found THIS:

maus's 18x18 conversion of his 9x9 "Nostalgia" tileset. After some quick-copy-paste work from Guybrush_Square, I had a servicable tileset that filled my screen, but was still "Graphick-y" enough for the purposes of at-a-glance item recognition.