Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Curious About Fortress Design  (Read 2096 times)

ehertlein

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Curious About Fortress Design
« on: August 27, 2008, 04:21:41 pm »

Are there any tools that people use to draw out their fortress before digging? I'm in my third year of my fortress and having all sorts of idea about how I would improve my next fortress.

Peewee

• Bay Watcher
  • Watcher Of Bays
    • View Profile
Re: Curious About Fortress Design
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2008, 04:29:59 pm »

Pencil + grid paper.
I've used notebook paper too, though it's more confusing xD

sjmarshy

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2008, 04:31:08 pm »

I've heard of people setting their spreadsheet programs to squares and filling in squares in different colours to plan out.

Davion

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2008, 04:42:37 pm »

If you're using Windows you can go into Paint, zoom into 6x or 8x and press Ctrl+G to get the grid pattern, switch to the smallest brush size and get to work on planning.

Fossaman

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2008, 04:46:47 pm »

If you're using Windows you can go into Paint, zoom into 6x or 8x and press Ctrl+G to get the grid pattern, switch to the smallest brush size and get to work on planning.

This is what I do when I'm really stymied. Otherwise I just try designating all the stuff to be mined out with the game paused, and keeping it paused until I've got it how I want it.
Quote from: ThreeToe
This story had a slide down a chute. Everybody likes chutes.

Quiller

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2008, 07:38:52 pm »

I went searching around a while ago and came up with this site

http://incompetech.com/graphpaper/plain/

Makes PDFs of graph paper to your specifications that you can print out yourself.