Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Military Screen  (Read 679 times)

lastofthelight

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Military Screen
« on: July 26, 2008, 03:20:24 am »

I love Dwarf Fortress and Toady, but this game has to have the worst interface of any game I've ever played, and I've been playing videogames for 20 years. Even after months of playing this, there are still parts of the interface that confuse me. If Toady wants to make money off of this game, he really should clean it up; he'd get alot more players.

That being said....

My latest problem is with the military screen. I have the usual glut of 'More Immigrants then I can ever possibly Need' - since all I'm doing right now is farming and making stonework. I'm trying t form a squad led by Aban, with Alath and Mebzuth also in it. Unfortunately, Bomrek /REFUSES/ to leave it.

I've tried just hitting enter on Aban to put him in his own squad with the other two; but that doesn't seem to work. (I just tried following the instructions; I hit enter on Aban, then Alath and then Bebzuth, then space) - but when I activate, the bastard Bomrek is still in it.

http://img367.imageshack.us/my.php?image=worstinterfaceevertq8.png

What can I do to get Bomrek out? I tried looking at the wiki entry for this already.

Also: I'm totally going to get flamed for this....

KrataLightblade

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Military Screen
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2008, 03:24:12 am »

Assign Bomrek to a different squad.
Noble corpses: the secret ingredient in machinery lubricant.

lastofthelight

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2008, 03:26:26 am »

Doesn't work, the others go right with him.