Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Scalability  (Read 1043 times)

Ovadya

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Scalability
« on: July 06, 2008, 10:37:23 pm »

I've had some experience dealing with communities of gamers and (a little admittedly) online-game communities. Here are some observations I think might transfere well to DF.

The biggest problem I've seen with game progression in DF is that with the HUGE detail available the trade off was that the game didn't scale well once a fortress grew beyond a certain point. Massive stockpiles become unmanagable, trudging through lists of dwarves looking for that -one- broker dwarf, wasting a full ten minutes for a task that should take 10 seconds. DF is littered with hundreds of these types of scaing problems.

I know in the dev thread and suggest threads have "Ease of Use" as an issue and also a "End game" isssue listed. However I think this does qualify as a separate suggestion, dealing with both but with a different mechanic in mind.

Alright... DF scales poorly (not-a-diss) in two areas, items and animals. Now the best way I've learned to deal with scaling issues is to take a hint from economies and create unitary gradation and heirarchies of groupings.

Ok, now that I don't feel like I wasted money on my new thesaurus let me high-light two examples from each sections.

First Items