Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Moat hijinks  (Read 1175 times)

FalloutBoy

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Moat hijinks
« on: June 27, 2008, 02:08:21 pm »

The "skip to the end" version:
If you build a moat, connected to an infinite water source, make sure you install an emergency shut-off floodgate, and make sure you have a means of draining it if you need to, ideally to an infinite sink like a chasm. Also if your moat ever freezes, make sure you use restricted zones to prevent dwarves from walking on the ice.

Long version:
I am still fairly new at this. This is my first big fortress and I'm still waiting on my first siege, which at a population over 100 and wealth of about 800K I think should be coming very soon. I had a near disaster last night, which would have been a total loss had it not been for one clumsy dwarf who got himself killed years prior.

Around my entrance I wanted to install a moat. Not around the entire fortress, but just a circle, where half of it would go into the cliff face and the other half would stick out with drawbridges and defensive towers in the middle. To enter the fortress you would have to cross the moat twice to get in and I had separate levers set up for the outer bridges and inner bridge. This worked fine and it looked cool.