Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: About scaring people,,,  (Read 1230 times)

Flying Mage

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
About scaring people,,,
« on: March 22, 2008, 09:32:00 am »

Hi guys.

First of all, sorry for my lame English. I’ll try to make my point in a few words  :)

I am total newby in DF and first day I see the project was last thursday. But now I am a big fan and future of DF is one of priority points of my interest. Also, this question probably was risen many times before, but I can’t find answers yet. So, why… WHY not to try to make a parallel work course for graphic-engine and mouse-oriented interface development? The game has so unbelievable great potential and hopefully big future, but last days I was trying to set my friends up for DF and only few shows interest. And even fewer actually feel the magic of the game after all. Why so? I think answer is obvious. Not enough skill of imagination and fantasy. But this people in majority and they are good people too  :) And extremely ascetic view and very unfriendly interface will scare them over and over. I can understand if authors don’t care about this (after all “This is not a job”). But if you are care – make some moves in this direction. If you are so swamped in code – find another people, who will make your game look better.

Respect.
And good luck.

Koji

• Bay Watcher
  • Kobold
    • View Profile
Re: About scaring people,,,
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2008, 10:15:00 am »

There are other games like Dwarf Fortress (called Roguelikes) that got a lot more popular when graphics were introduced. Dungeon Crawl Stone Soup is a good example.

The main reason there is no graphical support yet is that the game is not done yet, and Toady doesn't want to focus on designing a graphical interface when he could be working on civilizations and roads and war and stuff.

Dwarvenrealms
ASCII | Graphical