Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Dumb question.  (Read 1070 times)

Nightflame

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Dumb question.
« on: February 13, 2008, 11:59:00 pm »

I'm completely new to modding DF. The entity_default file looks simple, and looking at the guide(outdated) on the wiki, it also looks simple.

Heres my problem, I tried adding a second race to the EVIL area of entity_default, bascially goblins but larger and under a different name.

I generated a new world and went adventuring looking for them in their prefered location (dark forts), but didnt find any there, while clearing about half a fortress until i got nailed by a bowman.

I basically copy pasted and modified the goblin entry in entity_default and added a new creature to match the new race(copy of goblin creature, modified some).

I'm doing something wrong somewhere and dont know where. Any help understanding where im failing would be appreciated.

My intent is two evil races that visit each other and attack dwarves.

Slappy Moose

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Dumb question.
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2008, 12:05:00 am »

I have tried that as well, and failed.

I'm much better with creature and reaction modding, but I am curious to figure out how to make more war.

Zaneg Thazor: Armok Reincarnate Story http://www.bay12games.com/forum/index.php?topic=19291.msg196691#msg196691

[Healthcare Update Thread] Personally, I can't wait for doctors to get possessed and start surgically attaching axes to champion soldier's arms.

Untelligent

• Bay Watcher
  • I eat flesh!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2008, 05:38:00 pm »

I've tried something similar. Seems that there can't be more than one Evil race.
The World Without Knifebear — A much safer world indeed.