Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: A New Project  (Read 2189 times)

Kagus

• Bay Watcher
  • Olive oil. Don't you?
    • View Profile
A New Project
« on: February 13, 2008, 09:31:00 am »

Alright lads, I've got an idea for a mod, but I'm going to need some help getting it set up (mainly, I'm going to need people nagging me to work on it).

I'm pretty new to this, so I'll be asking a lot of questions about various tags and such.  Also, I'll be asking for creature ideas and name suggestions.

Here's the overview:

There will be extensive work done with the civilizations in the game.  First off I'll just be swapping out one entity for another, but I'll want to add more in later.  Eventually, I want a setting with numerous races of a particular class, so that depending on where you settle, you may have contact with some and not others.  Adds a little variety.

First in line for new races:  
Lizardmen. These will be the fort mode civ, at least early on.

Frostlings. These will replace dwarves for now.  Lives in towns on tundra, glacier, and taiga biomes.  Resistant to cold.  Bonus points if you know where I'm stealing these guys from.

Stygians.  These may become a fortable race later on, if it's possible to have more than one without complications.  They are, essentially, undead.  Massive constructions have never been so easy, but you can forget about having them heal a broken limb.  I suppose that's easier, since they'll just pick up and move on instead of sitting in a bed for the rest of their lives.  I'm not sure what complications may arise from having a creature with both the [INTELLIGENT] and [NO_THOUGHT] tags.

New creatures will have to be added as well.  Tameable frost wolves for Frostlings, Giant Turtles for Lizardmen, and perhaps bone hounds for Stygians, unless I can think of some other suitable evil critter.