Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Anyone tried to make a DF bot?  (Read 5274 times)

TheSpaceMan

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • http://www.digital-lifeform.com
Anyone tried to make a DF bot?
« on: April 08, 2008, 05:29:00 am »

It just hit me... it would be fun. I am a programmer, but i have never ventured to the land of memory hacking, it would be really fun to make a bot that plays DF or Tries to. The code base for it would be enormous, giving it some values or a xml with data for what areas to try to build and what objects it should try to create. It would be awsome and hard as hell i guess.
Poking around with a DFParser.
Bodypart names, creatures names in one easily overviewable place.

Oh my new (old) picture?

Helmaroc

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone tried to make a DF bot?
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2008, 07:51:00 am »

Like an AI or something? I don't think any program can be smart enough to successfully play DF.

TheSpaceMan

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2008, 08:02:00 am »

I am sure it could be.
Still, i don't talk about playing the entire game, just say... a manager for hard times or replaning or something.
My first goal will be a procedural floor planer, should be easy enough, doesn't realy need to know anything about the gameworld.

[ April 08, 2008: Message edited by: TheSpaceMan ]

Oh my new (old) picture?

Mel_Vixen

• Bay Watcher
  • Hobby: accidently thread derailment
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2008, 09:17:00 am »

Ok but how do you recognize the "You have struck (Material)! " Messages?

Good Luck and write directly to the Memory for tile-allocation etc. because DF recognizes keypressed-message only each 150 microseconds after the first keypressed-message.