Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Nuclear weapons?  (Read 682 times)

Astolfo Piededoro

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Nuclear weapons?
« on: January 14, 2023, 08:08:13 am »

Hello there and friendly greetings!

I am fairly new in DF world and got hooked immediately. And almost immediately I noticed a huge thing missing in this game!  ;)

Just kidding here but bear with me... Uranium is missing. And so is missing the preparation of uranium isotopes.

I understood that there are no explosives in the games, yet I came across this https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2911116219&searchtext=powder and something clicked in my brain.

Also, this https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2903409449&searchtext=explosive+cat is available so here is my idea.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NEW ORE + NEW WORKSHOP
URANIUM : you can find it in caves in the form of Uranium 238, nonfissile.
ENRICHER : workshop to process U238 into Uranium 235, fissile & U235 into Plutonium 239, fissile
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

At this point, you combine the blast powder inside an iron (from the Blast Powder MOD)
Then combine the arquebuse with the U235 inside another cartridge and you obtain a small atomic bomb!

You can even go further by using the ENRICHER workshop to turn the U235 into Plutonium 239, fissile.

Then put P239 and a small atomic bomb inside another cartridge to obtain a small hydrogen bomb!

At this point it would be possible to use the damage dealt by this https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2903409449&searchtext=explosive+cat to calculate and reproduce the yeld of these two bombs.

The points are: