Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Am I missing something? Everything?  (Read 1610 times)

Doctor Lucky

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Am I missing something? Everything?
« on: September 30, 2006, 10:39:00 pm »

I'm new to adventure mode, but having run a few failed, and then one moderately successful fortress, I felt like kicking down a dungeon door or two.

But I've either run into a bug, or I'm REALLY dense, because, well, I can't seem to locate any towns, get any quests, or trade with any merchants.  Which sort of takes some of the fun out of adventuring, as you might imagine.

I created a character from the same dwarven kingdom as my big fortress.  I then started on the outskirts of a dwarven fort, and once I figured out that the cliff was down, not right, I wandered in and had a look around.

Everyone, *including the merchants* tells me to go find a merchant to trade.  The Mayor is not interested in "Service".

So I wandered across country, and a few characters later (alligators, leopards, and (sob) a gazelle), I realized that the asterisks on the main map were settlements.

But the human settlements seem to consist solely of a patch of land with a piece of trampled dirt (road?) across the centre, and about a dozen humans wandering around.  The one merchant I have found was uninterested.

This is true of each of 6 or so settlements I've tested.  

Have I just been extremely unlucky, and run into an antimaterialist tribe of nomadic hunter-tramplers?  Or possibly I'm missing a magic key? (I use '>' to go from main map to settlement)

I built the world and played using 0.21.104.21b, but after having these problems I upgraded to 0.21.105.21a, by copying the save folder over into the new game directory.

Okay, I'm prepared:  Make me feel really, really dumb  :)

Gedsaro

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Am I missing something? Everything?