Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Any way to organize the /u/ menu?  (Read 1100 times)

TheElfMan

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Any way to organize the /u/ menu?
« on: January 24, 2019, 02:22:18 pm »

I love dwarf fortress, but I hate how I can't organize my dwarf list menu under /u/. Is there anyway to specifically arrange where the dwarfs are on the list, or to change the colour of their names on the list?

Bumber

• Bay Watcher
  • REMOVE KOBOLD
    • View Profile
Re: Any way to organize the /u/ menu?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2019, 08:13:29 pm »

Not without DFHack. I'm not aware of any plugin that lets you manually arrange them, but there's a search function and a custom screen that lets you sort by various things.

The colors are based on the dwarves' professions. Without DFHack, the dwarves are only grouped by profession and then sorted by when they arrived at your fort.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2019, 08:16:05 pm by Bumber »
Reading his name would trigger it. Thinking of him would trigger it. No other circumstances would trigger it- it was strictly related to the concept of Bill Clinton entering the conscious mind.

THE xTROLL FUR SOCKx RUSE WAS A........... DISTACTION        the carp HAVE the wagon

A wizard has turned you into a wagon. This was inevitable (Y/y)?

Elderon

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2019, 07:10:59 am »

While I can appreciate feeling that with dfhack and Dwarf Therapist it is not "clean DF" I think that when you becomu annoyed by UI it is ok to use 3-party tools. Complicat UI is not part of the challenge (IMHO).
I use /u/ menu only when I need to zoom to specific dwarf. For any another function it is to frustrating to use it.

mikekchar

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2019, 06:41:09 pm »