Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Fortress design and story time  (Read 2020 times)

Kuria

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Fortress design and story time
« on: November 28, 2018, 08:05:02 pm »

When I started playing DF, centuries ago, the thing I hated MOST about the experience was how LONNGG it took from feeling the urge to actually getting into gameplay. I'm always starting fresh every six months to a year, so I download the binaries (OKAY the lazy newb pack), roll a new world, search for the perfect location, painstakingly craft my expedition party, and before I can hit unpause I've spent as much as an hour or more, and that's all before untangling the military interface enough to keep me alive.

Well I guess it's true what they say, all things change. With my rising interest in an iterative fortress design that newly incorporates a temple, library, museum, and tavern housing - trying to balance efficiency and my own personal aesthetic moods - I just spent the better part of a day NOT JUST designing the core of a new fortress, but marking the third fortress in the same world, something I haven't really done at all before. (I blame Kruggsmash, honestly.)