Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Necromancer as ringleader  (Read 1169 times)

bloop_bleep

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Necromancer as ringleader
« on: June 29, 2017, 12:22:03 am »

Hello everyone. I'm a total noob at Adventure Mode, and I have a question. I made an adventurer, fully kitted him out in armor, gave him an axe and went off to go kill some bandits. I then happened to see a flashing N with a tilde over it. First I assumed it was a werebeast, but then I saw it was a necromancer ringleader. What should I do in this case? Perhaps I should take him out first so he can't raise any corpses? But what if there are more necromancers hiding there somewhere? Thanks in advance.
Quote from: KittyTac
The closest thing Bay12 has to a flamewar is an argument over philosophy that slowly transitioned to an argument about quantum mechanics.
Quote from: thefriendlyhacker
The trick is to only make predictions semi-seriously.  That way, I don't have a 98% failure rate. I have a 98% sarcasm rate.

mikekchar

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Necromancer as ringleader
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2017, 10:11:29 am »

When in doubt, run away.  That has done more to keep my adventurer's alive than anything else :-)  But if/when you decide to fight, I would definitely take out the necromancer first.

bloop_bleep

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2017, 10:56:38 am »

Alright, I decided to go in. I forgot, however, to use my morningstar instead of my sword, so now I'm fighting both the necromancer AND his reanimated left upper arm.
EDIT: After killing the undead arm a couple times, I finally managed to score the killing blow on the necromancer (which will be good on my reputation). The undead arm was then killed by my companion, never to be raised again. I might just take it as a trophy.