Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Wat  (Read 2021 times)

StagnantSoul

• Bay Watcher
  • "Player has withdrawn from society!"
    • View Profile
Wat
« on: June 19, 2017, 01:22:31 am »

Uuuum, I've been playing for four years, and I've never seen this. I left my old site, as it was getting a little fps-deathy down at 2 fps, and embarked on a new volcano. And uh, well... Have a look.
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

What can cause this? It's so weird to look at, even weirder than the flat volcanoes of days gone by.
Quote from: Cptn Kaladin Anrizlokum
I threw night creature blood into a night creature's heart and she pulled it out and bled to death.
Quote from: Eric Blank
Places to jibber madly at each other, got it
Quote from: NJW2000
If any of them are made of fire, throw stuff, run, and think non-flammable thoughts.

PatrikLundell

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Wat
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2017, 03:28:56 am »

I've made a region manipulator tool that can change the elevation of a region tile so that an immediate subsequent embark there (without changing world tile focus) gets the effect you see, i.e. an almost sheer drop at the embark tile edges. The same tool can also flatten a volcano, and I think the situation displayed can be generated with it.
I'd say the region tile where the volcano is located has a considerably higher elevation value than the tiles surrounding it, so you get an embark tile with a volcano at a high elevation, surrounded by the other tiles at a considerably lower one.

StagnantSoul

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2017, 03:33:07 am »

I've made a region manipulator tool that can change the elevation of a region tile so that an immediate subsequent embark there (without changing world tile focus) gets the effect you see, i.e. an almost sheer drop at the embark tile edges. The same tool can also flatten a volcano, and I think the situation displayed can be generated with it.