Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Screeps  (Read 2685 times)

ductape

• Bay Watcher
  • MAD BOMBER
    • View Profile
    • Alchemy WebDev
Screeps
« on: November 18, 2016, 02:42:16 am »

just released on Steam, it's basically an RTS MMO where you spawn "creeps" and use them to harvest resources, control areas and battle other players. The twist is that you can only control the game through JavaScript.

www.screeps.com

Tutorial is cool. I'm not really a programmer but this seems pretty fun and a cool way to learn how to program AI. I just wish the tutorial snippets were available outside the pop up windows so I could type them myself and not copy paste them in.
I got nothing

Girlinhat

• Bay Watcher
  • [PREFSTRING:large ears]
    • View Profile
Re: Screeps
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2016, 04:51:52 am »

I tried to thrum up some interest but the last thread, Bay12 seemed to strongly disagree with the payment options and the game concept as a whole.  I personally really enjoy it though...

Hanzoku

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2016, 08:19:18 am »

Oh yeah, mostly because it's pay to win. Can't pay out for more CPU time, then no matter how efficiently you code your creeps, you'll be zerged under by someone who's willing to shell out to win.

It is a cool idea, no arguing there.

ductape

• Bay Watcher
  • MAD BOMBER
    • View Profile
    • Alchemy WebDev
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2016, 12:13:40 pm »

There are private servers t solve that issue, the game is open source I do believe.
I got nothing

Finndibaenn

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2016, 02:57:12 pm »

I enjoy it a lot.
and I wouldn't say it's pay to win, it's rather a free demo that doesn't have a time/content limit.

But it's clear from the beginning that the "free" content is limiting you in the potential you can reach.