Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Poll

What year did you start playing?

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: When did you start playing Dwarf Fortress?  (Read 5194 times)

Dravd

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
When did you start playing Dwarf Fortress?
« on: July 31, 2016, 03:13:42 am »

I was interested how has DF grown over the year and how many are long time fans!

Salmeuk

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: When did you start playing Dwarf Fortress?
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2016, 05:26:28 am »

I've been playing since ~6 months after the first 2d release, IIRC. I was just a kid! Which is one reason I had the patience to struggle through the interface. I also remember being too scared to make a forum account until a year or so later.

I don't think playing for a long time makes you any better at the game, really - it's easy to survive. However, it DOES make it easier to play with the vanilla interface, and I've also noticed older players developing trademark styles of fortress design.

Also longtime players are generally batshit and no longer play by the accepted rules of the matrix DF.

The point where the game transitioned from 2d to 3d was mind-blowing. I still remember the day that update dropped (after like a year of development, which is massive as a teenager), I spent hours and hours just embarking, abandoning, and embarking over and over again. Most people don't point out that the 3d update also brought the ability to embark anywhere within the world, excluding mountains and oceans, whereas before it was limited to just a few preset locations. The game just felt that much more real.