Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Getting Started on Linux  (Read 2381 times)

SalmonGod

• Bay Watcher
  • Nyarrr
    • View Profile
Getting Started on Linux
« on: March 01, 2016, 09:51:31 pm »

Annoyed with various things about Windows.  I've been thinking about it for years, but I'm actually downloading Zorin OS right now.

I know there are some very savvy Linux types around.  Any tips for getting started? 

I've never done a dual-boot set-up before.  Any stupid shit I should be warned of to avoid fucking anything up?
What are the performance effects of running Windows software through Wine or something vs running on actual Windows?  Is it feasible to drop Windows completely in favor of doing that for an artist/gamer?
In the land of twilight, under the moon
We dance for the idiots
As the end will come so soon
In the land of twilight

Maybe people should love for the sake of loving, and not with all of these optimization conditions.

karhell

• Bay Watcher
  • [IS_A_MOLPY]
    • View Profile
Re: Getting Started on Linux
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2016, 10:12:08 am »

Any tips for getting started?
Zorin looks pretty good on the user-friendliness side, but I'd still recommend getting acquainted with the basics of the command line. It's ugly at first, but should help a lot down the line.

I've never done a dual-boot set-up before.  Any stupid shit I should be warned of to avoid fucking anything up?
On the utterly-absolutely safe side, you might consider starting with a Virtual Machine before going full dual boot. That way, you don't need to mess around with partitioning and can get your hand in without the risk of fucking anything up (buggered the system? Don't like it after all? It's a VM. Just delete it).

Or you can go straight for it, which is also perfectly valid, in which case, I'd recommend the following :
  • Stay calm.