Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: The Titan Cometh  (Read 2271 times)

mwoody450

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
The Titan Cometh
« on: January 21, 2008, 05:52:00 pm »

I've been playing for several versions and for a large number of forts, including several that got as far as the economics and even the arrival of a king, but I've never seen a megabeast.  At first I considered myself lucky, but after a while I started to want to try my hand against some of the big boys.  I wasn't, however, ready for one to show up in this fort, less than a season after I started training my first military dwarves!

But there he was: "Litop Fathrinou, the Titan, has arrived!"  Oh, crap.  Lockdown mode: I gave the order to get everyone inside, immediately - drop what you're doing and go!  The dwarves obliged, while the titan - luckily for us - meandered around the edge of the map arguing with himself whether he preferred his dwarf meat fried or grilled.  My small squad of recently-drafted archers were summoned to the roof of the entrance, crappy wood crossbows and bone bolts in hand.  They weren't going to be enough.  Nor, most likely, were my measly few stone traps going to bring him down.  Locking down the fort as best I could, I prepared for the worst.