Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: When do attacks start?  (Read 902 times)

intently

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
When do attacks start?
« on: August 24, 2007, 08:10:00 am »

Just curious: when do attacks start happening?  I'm in my third year with 90 dwarves (and a mayor etc) and I haven't yet seen an attack by more then 2 enemies at a time.  One ratman from the chasm pops up periodically, but that's no big deal.  When will I have to worry about sieges?  When will the chasm heat up?  Magma men?

Thetwodud

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: When do attacks start?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2007, 08:46:00 am »

From my experience, they all seem pretty random. Goblin seiges may start happening within a year of getting the mayor (they tend to for me). As for the chasm and magma, my current fortress is on its tenth or so year and has yet to provoke anything major from either (maybe a mole dog or a troll once in a while).

All I can recommend is patience, the goblins will come to destroy you on their watch.

[ August 24, 2007: Message edited by: Thetwodud ]

PresidentEvil

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2007, 10:18:00 am »

River, magma, and chasm attacks happen essentially randomly; chasming refuse can increase the odds of getting a chasm attack though.

Sieges will happen once your fort has either a mayor or a trade minister.

I will mod in plastic as a resource.  I will then tweak the Dwarven civ entry so that coins are only made out of plastic, and are called "credit cards".
I will make dwarves purchase things with bushels of credit cards.  It will be a mockery of both systems.
It will be stupid.  But it will be gloriously stupid.

Shadowlord

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2007, 11:26:00 am »