Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Siege engines and defense  (Read 2238 times)

Ruttiger

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • http://https://server2.kproxy.com/servlet/redirect.srv/s/p1/
Siege engines and defense
« on: March 21, 2008, 04:00:00 pm »

I'm still pretty new to Dwarf Fortress, and for the first time today I was ambushed by goblins.  Now, my only squad was asleep and I lost a couple of good dwarves before they woke up.  So of course, I make a second squad as soon as a new group of immigrants show up.  Now, this works for a little while, a few little groups show up, and get slaughtered with minimal injuries on my side (I love crossbows), but suddenly two groups show up at once and slaughter an entire squad.   Then, a third group shows.  A group of marksmen. I lost more than 10 dwarves to them, we didn't kill a single one either.  If they hadn't simply passed by they would've killed everyone.  

Now I want to be prepared.  I built a wall around my surface entrances.  It'll have two floors (I'm right next to a hill so I want one entrance leading out there, and one on the ground floor).  I dug a pit which I'm going to place a retracting bridge over, and on the second floor another bridge the leads to the hill.