Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Farm blueprint  (Read 800 times)

Thorisil

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Farm blueprint
« on: February 18, 2015, 02:24:07 pm »

Hello guys, first post here. Whoop!

Given that I'm a noob at DF (noob as in really noob), I wanted to do some planning before telling my dwarves to dig. My current problem is creating a farm with two special features:
   1. A means for my dwarf to clean themselves from the mud of the farm while coming into the main part of my fortress
   2. A way to irrigate my croops when needed.

I did my planning and the result is in the spoiler. This is what should happen:
   1. Water at 2-3/7 should constantly go from the sx part of the picture to the dx, intersecting the path of my dwarves.
   2. The water will clean my dwarves and any mud will be sent by the flood to the title with no floor, from that to the ramp at -2, from the ramp to the -3 level, to the fortification at the end of the map.

1. If the Floodgate is activated, water will flood the -2 and -3 level.
   2. When the Floodgate is deactivated, the water will follow gravity and go dx into the down ramp, from then to the -3 level, from then to the fortification at the end of the map.

Now, those are the questions:
   1. Will it work like I said?
   2. How do I take moving water from a river at 7/7 and obtain an artificial flow of 3/7 water, possibly without making a swimming pool out of my fortress?

Spoiler (click to show/hide)
Edit: I noticed that the color in the spoiler is terrible for the eyes: copy and paste on Bloc Notes should solve the problem. It also make the graphic more understandable.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2015, 02:53:15 pm by Thorisil »

evictedSaint

• Bay Watcher
  • if (ANNOYED_W_FANS==true) { KILL_CHAR(rand()); }
    • View Profile
Re: Farm blueprint
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2015, 02:45:43 pm »