Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Archery Ranges not working?  (Read 3936 times)

GannonDork

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Archery Ranges not working?
« on: January 16, 2015, 04:31:56 pm »

Hello I am Very new to dwarf fortress.
I set up a few archery targets and made them into rooms long enough for the dwarves to shoot from.
I set up the shooting direction correctly (from bottom to top)
Then on the "Q" menu I designated each of my squads to "train" at each archery range.

(I am hope this is the right forum to ask this in)

Numeroid

• Bay Watcher
  • Back after a long hiatus.
    • View Profile
Re: Archery Ranges not working?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2015, 04:38:39 pm »

I find that you have to activate the squad through the archery range menu but leave them off duty in the Squad menu. They train for me like that.

mobucks

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2015, 04:42:10 pm »

Do they have bows, quivers, and ammo?
Is ammo assigned to the squad within the military UI? Is it designated to be used for training?
Can they reach the ammo?

Other than that, I find dwarves will more often practice if they have no scheduled orders. If set to active/training, they will spar and train other skills at their barracks.

Findulidas

• Bay Watcher
  • [NATURAL_SKILL:OFFTOPIC:5][NOTHOUGHT]
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2015, 05:03:20 pm »

For starters always look at the wiki, if it still doesnt work its good to ask. To be completely honest most people seem to know less than the wiki anyway.

http://dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/DF2014:Archery
...wonderful memories of the creeping sense of dread...

Urist Tilaturist

• Bay Watcher
  • The most dwarven name possible.
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2015, 06:17:21 pm »