Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: I'm a bit new here!  (Read 906 times)

Goblins

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
I'm a bit new here!
« on: January 06, 2015, 07:49:30 pm »

Hello!  I just started playing Dwarf Fortress again after taking a long break from it.  I'm surprised that my username wasn't taken already... maybe it was meant to be?  Anyways, I really love playing dwarf fortress!

Previously I was a bit of a mess; not really doing anything productive and in the end dying due to silly mistakes.  Let me give you some examples.  First off, I didn't know how to brew alcohol or anything... so my dwarfs got way too sober to do any work at all.  Then if I remember correctly a quick siege ended my noobish fortress, leaving nothing behind.  Back then I didn't have any tilesets or anything so it was confusing.

Now that I regained interest and am reading the wiki more, I have found so much more out!  I now use one of the tilesets and believe me, it makes the game way more understandable to me!  I think I have finally got past the learning curve of the game.   I would also like to point out that I do have Dwarf Therapist and the LazyNewbPack.  Though I am here on the forums to ask questions because my knowledge is very limited as of now. 

So, some questions of mine currently are;

1. When is it safest to go and look for caves? 

2. Is relocation of a base a good idea once I get good?

3. Are rangers/fishers useful in any way to have them in great numbers or should I recruit them to the military?

I have no doubt that more questions will follow after this!  Thanks for your time! :D
Edit: BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! A goblin just got gelded by a copper mace in a weapon trap! This game is the greatest.
Urist McLeader stopped eating Kitten Tripe : Creating God

C27

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: I'm a bit new here!
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2015, 08:05:33 pm »