Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Minecart - Dwarves not pushing?  (Read 1180 times)

Bearskie

• Bay Watcher
  • Nyam nyam
    • View Profile
Minecart - Dwarves not pushing?
« on: October 07, 2014, 12:57:30 am »

Hey, DF newbie here. Just had to make an account to ask this.

Y'see, recently I've went about building my first minecart system. It was supposed to fetch bought food from my trade depot (which is located on the other side of the map) and send it all the way to a point above my fortress, at which at the end of the track it will dump the food a couple of z-levels down into my fortress.

My dwarves have filled up the minecart with food from the stockpile I've made nearby (It's at 100%, i've checked), but nobody is pushing the thing. I've even made a burrow encompassing the stockpile, minecart and constructed minecart tracks, and assigned a dwarf with only the push/haul vehicle labour on. Nothing happens.

Some help guys?
« Last Edit: October 07, 2014, 04:41:52 am by Bearskie »

Larix

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Minecart - Dwarves not pushing?
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2014, 04:43:57 am »

What is the "depart condition"? - view/edit by looking at your 'h'-route management screen, selecting the 's'top in question. You must have an appropriate action ("push" typically), correct direction, acceptable condition ("when full/at least 50%") and no or very little delay ("always" or "in x days").

Check the "j"obs screen - if the job is generated, it should show up somewhere in the lower half of the list as "push track vehicle". If it doesn't, chances are there's something wrong with the depart conditions. If it does show up, check what prevents whoever was taking the job from executing it (follow the dwarf via "f" if needed).

Bearskie

• Bay Watcher
  • Nyam nyam
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2014, 12:50:30 am »