Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Most improved feature  (Read 1462 times)

Valosar

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Most improved feature
« on: September 15, 2014, 12:40:18 am »

Hello all I'm starting this tread to kind of introduce myself and save hello. I've played Dwarf Fortress on and off since the days before Z levels were added (Couldn't say exactly when I started playing, all I know is it was very easy to flood the entire world with water or lava (Or both I guess if you're inventive) Things have come a very long way since then and even since the last time I played I'm amazed at the changes. One thing that struck me the most when I sat down to try DF2014 for the first time is that the trees span several Z levels now with their branches and leaves, AMAZING! I never even realized before that this was missing, but now that it is there I don't know how I lived without it. I know it is a simple visual addition (And seems to increase the amount of wood you get for chopping down trees) but it really makes the scene come alive for me. Also looking forward to playing with wheel barrows and mine carts. I saw a wheel barrow in my default load out and said "I Don't need no stinking wheel barrow!" Now I see my guys struggling to carry rocks and for some reason carrying entire barrels to the field to add 1 plump helmet, not sure what is going on there but I'm sure it will be tons of fun figuring it all out : )

What is one thing that has changed since you've first started playing that has really blown you away?

StagnantSoul

• Bay Watcher
  • "Player has withdrawn from society!"
    • View Profile
Re: Most improved feature
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2014, 12:45:52 am »

The addition of movement speed and combat speed opened up so many opportunities, I really love the branches it opened up.
Quote from: Cptn Kaladin Anrizlokum