Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DF2014... FPS  (Read 2655 times)

MoridinUK

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
DF2014... FPS
« on: July 21, 2014, 02:50:22 pm »

I thought I noticed somewhere else on this site, but am I right in thinking that df2014 totally does in fps at the moment?

I noticed in my first attempt with the new version, that fps where very very very much lower than previous versions?

I'm just trying to decide whether to give it another go or drop back to 2012 for awhile?

Iamblichos

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: DF2014... FPS
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2014, 02:59:02 pm »

It can get very slow.
I'm new to succession forts in general, yes, but do all forts designed by multiple overseers inevitably degenerate into a body-filled labyrinth of chaos and despair like this? Or is this just a Battlefailed thing?

There isn't much middle ground between killed-by-dragon and never-seen-by-dragon.

Orange Wizard

• Bay Watcher
  • mou ii yo
    • View Profile
    • S M U G
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2014, 03:06:09 pm »

The FPS issues are due to the world being simulated in the background. It needs some serious optimising that Toady hasn't quite got around to yet.

The best way around it is the generate a smaller world with short history, so the simulation has less stuff to chug through and slow your fort down. It shouldn't drop to unplayable speeds unless you're running Dwarf Fortress on a toaster.
Please don't shitpost, it lowers the quality of discourse
Hard science is like a sword, and soft science is like fear. You can use both to equally powerful results, but even if your opponent disbelieve your stabs, they will still die.

thvaz

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2014, 03:09:25 pm »