Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: How to build and keep at larger projects  (Read 2416 times)

gigaraptor487

• Bay Watcher
  • Escaped Lunatic now civilised
    • View Profile
How to build and keep at larger projects
« on: July 12, 2014, 03:45:33 pm »

Hello, I am a programmer and have around 5 years of experience programming as a hobby. Everything I have made up to this point has a maximum of about 5 source files in my language of choice, C. I think that I have gotten the degree of practice necessary to develop something a bit bigger but I am not sure how I can reliably design and implement something complex like a full roguelike or something internet based.

What it would be nice to know is how I can go about designing and managing these larger projects and hopefully getting something more complex out of it than what I have done up to this point. The second part of the question is how should I go about keeping momentum on projects? It seems that after around a week of programming most days I run out of steam and the project comes to a halt and is never worked on again. This is depressing so It would be nice to get some pointers from people that have worked on larger scale projects on how to keep going.

Thanks for answering in advance.
Hehe, you thought there would be an interesting sig here

I now run a program which brings old multiplayer games back to life : click

JoeJoe

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: How to build and keep at larger projects
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2014, 01:21:35 pm »

First of all, you should look into learning a language that offers more abstraction than C, especially if you want to make a larger project. It will just make so many things easier and you'll be that much more productive.