Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: New Players "Why are you Hooked?"  (Read 2252 times)

blackravenx

• Bay Watcher
  • Learning Newbie
    • View Profile
New Players "Why are you Hooked?"
« on: July 09, 2014, 03:47:27 pm »

Hello GF world,
I wanted to bring the forums some new player area that we “New players” can talk about the game in general or get quick help with some issues in game.
I wanted to say how in the hack I missed this game all these years... And I’m talking 1975+ when I started playing word games “Adventure” on the IBM computer in DOS 1.0. I can call myself a gamer, I tried all types of games, played D&D since 1979, and anything new I but I missed this one.  I know there is currently an ongoing discussion about “QQ why isn’t this game like the old game” but I don’t want to not focus on the “QQ” but instead why I am hooked on this game.
I’m am speechless on the amount of thought that went into this game. The history aspect, community/town growth, and the general building up your creative ideas on how you would like your fort/town/city/castle. I am confused about the game play and the moving around part since I only started this game on 7/1/2014 but working through the concept and understanding what I need to do. I’m also amassed on the quick responses I got when posting on forums … * Bow to all that helped.
Currently, I’m using the 2012 + dwarf Therapist and Phoebus_ 16x16 map because I cannot handle the ASCII. I tried but I found myself struggling to find out what everything was for hours and not really playing the game. After changing over to Phoebus map I’m rolling along learning at a much faster pace. Everyone has their preferences but I can say I gave it a shot   .
This goes out to all you “New guys/ladies” (or experienced Players) why did you start playing, what made you choose this game, and why are you hooked like me?
Thanks,