Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Need help with brewing  (Read 937 times)

Magnumcannon

• Bay Watcher
  • Deep waters don't run still
    • View Profile
Need help with brewing
« on: June 24, 2014, 08:55:38 pm »

I created a new fortress, i'm kinda new to this game, like some weeks. I managed to get metal bars (Silver, Iron and Lead) and to make a functional plump helmet farm. After that, i saw that my fortress was really getting low on drinks. I built a still, a farmer workshop and for some reason i don't remember, a quern. I tried to brew drinks at the still, but it said "Needs distillable item" and tried to process plants (To barrel) at the farmer workshop, but it said "Needs unrotten processable plants". I found that weird, because i have like 50 plump helmets, and i know they can be turned on booze. My dwarfs are now thirsty, but they didn't die...yet.

lysaght

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Need help with brewing
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2014, 09:05:58 pm »

Check that Depot Access again. You need 3 tiles wide for the caravans

Dr.Propz

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2014, 09:07:42 pm »

Check your stocks screen (z), go to the kitchen tab
You probably set plump helmets to unbrewable

Panando

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2014, 09:16:16 pm »

Brewing is not done at the farmers workshop, it is done at the still (b-w-l), process plants to barrel at the farmers workshop is for turning sweet pods into dwarven syrup.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2014, 09:23:11 pm by Panando »
Punch through a multi-z aquifer in under 5 minutes, video walkthrough. I post as /u/BlakeMW on reddit.

puke

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2014, 09:42:38 pm »