Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Unable to Distribute All Skill Points  (Read 2106 times)

TheVerySpecialK

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Unable to Distribute All Skill Points
« on: June 04, 2014, 11:06:02 am »

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Dwarf Fortress (just started playing yesterday), and I've run into an issue with the skill point system. As you probably know, each dwarf has 10 skill points to distribute before embarking in Dwarf Fortress mode. Now, here's the thing: When I have distributed around 39-40 skill points amongst my dwarfs collectively, I am suddenly unable to allocate further skill points (it's as if the "+" key has suddenly stopped responding). However, I can remove previously distributed points (i.e., the "-" key still works) and then re-distribute them (at which point the "+" key will start working again until I reach the mysterious 39-40 point "limit").

Any help is much appreciated: It would be great to be able to allocate those extra 30 skill points! I'm playing vanilla Dwarf Fortress v0.34.11 with no tile packs or other game-altering modifications. Just to clarify, the rest of the game is working fine; I've even constructed my first fort(ress-ish)!  :D

toomanysecrets

• Bay Watcher
  • Jackpot.
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Distribute All Skill Points
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2014, 11:31:52 am »

You have to spend your embark points to increase skills. You're probably out of embark points.

GiglameshDespair

• Bay Watcher
  • Beware! Once I have posted, your thread is doomed!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2014, 11:35:37 am »

You have to spend your embark points to increase skills. You're probably out of embark points.
Both skills and material goods cost embark points.
I never bring a wheelbarrow, or any pig-tail thread/cloth/bags to save points.
You fool. Don't you understand?
No one wishes to go on...