Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: A Quick Question About Farming  (Read 4349 times)

Phoenix3270

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
A Quick Question About Farming
« on: January 06, 2014, 06:22:00 pm »

Hey. I'm new to Dwarf Fortress. So far, I grasp all concepts except one, farming. I read through the farming guide it it didn't help me. I was wondering, How do I farm underground? I dug one layer down into the ground and a layer of sand came up, the next layer and many layers below that was stone. I'm just starting my world and I only have underground seeds. I can't farm in the sand or stone, could someone help me out? My dwarves are about to die of starvation. Thanks.

VerdantSF

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: A Quick Question About Farming
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2014, 06:38:33 pm »

Iirc, the indicator is incorrect for underground soil layers.  It will say that you can't place a farm down, but if you go ahead with building it, it will work just fine.  For stone, you have to cover the area with water to get a layer of mud first.

greycat

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2014, 07:13:58 pm »

Sand counts as a soil type, so you should be able to build farm plots on the sand, regardless of whether it's underground or aboveground.  Just make sure a single plot doesn't span both underground and aboveground tiles.  It has to be all of one or the other.
Hell, if nobody's suffocated because of it, it hardly counts as a bug! -- StLeibowitz

Phoenix3270

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2014, 07:16:20 am »

Okay, thanks guys.

Blue_Dwarf

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2014, 07:29:37 am »

Sand, clay or dirt all work.

If your dwarves are about to die of starvation, you can make them gather plants on the surface. That should give you enough berries and brewable crops.