Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: The Build-a-City Game 2 what kind of area should start at?(we don't have a gm)  (Read 3624 times)

ICBM pilot

• Bay Watcher
  • D'awwww
    • View Profile

the first one
The last game was unfortunately abandoned so I decided to make a new one.
I am an awful writer so the game won't start until I get a better one. Just tell me if you want to be the writer or gm
I will be making changes as we go so if something feels overpowered or underpowered I will consider changing it.
Spoiler: character creation (click to show/hide)

This is a game about...village building. Yeah, let's go with that. It's about village building by you guys who invariably travel through time. Or something.

Basic Rules

A year is 4 seasons, each season is two parts (Early Spring, Late Spring)

Depending on situation turns take on smaller units of time.
Battles resolve instantly but usually "happen" in about a week, marching time notwithstanding.

Each player essentially runs a "guild". Party, guild, posse, skill, however you call it.
  Each guild has a "Major" specialization. This is what your guild is known BEST for (and get the biggest check bonus for). Having superbly high skill in Spears, for example, would cause the enemy on the battlefield to run in terror when your spearmen arrive on the field.
  Each guild has up to 4 "Minor" specializations. These increase slower but are kinda "we're branching out" type things. Not as well known but respectable enough.
  Minor specializations can be added or modified at any time, up to 4 total though. Caveat: Doing so loses all skill and influence the specialization has. There's some spillover from other specializations ("They're doing Spears now and since they do Axes so well they should do Spears just fine" type of mentality)