Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: A really stupid question about bridges  (Read 1021 times)

moondowner

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
A really stupid question about bridges
« on: October 04, 2013, 02:15:38 pm »

I think I've never built one-tile-long bridges before, and now... do they really look the same when raised/lowered? And how, if I don't remember... man, I feel stupid. I'm playing vanilla DF (no tileset). I can figure it out by looking at levers, but it's really inefficient.

WhimsyWink

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: A really stupid question about bridges
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2013, 02:21:58 pm »

I had the same problem.  There are ways to tell but it was simpler for me to just make them at least 2 long.  I have not had any problems with a long raising bridge on a single level
Ellipsis free since August 2013.

jcochran

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2013, 02:45:17 pm »

Yes, a 1 tile long or wide bridge (that rises in the direction of the 1 tile width or length) looks the same whether it's up or down. And I too, tend to make my bridges at least 2 tiles long in the rising direction just so I can tell at a glance if they're up or down. But you can tell if they're up or down by attempting to build something on the spot they occupy. If they're down, you'll get a 'building occupies' error and if they're up, you'll get a 'blocked' error.

Sutremaine

• Bay Watcher
  • [ETHIC:ATROCITY: PERSONAL_MATTER]
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2013, 02:50:27 pm »

Tilesets won't help anyway. You can't choose one tile for a raised 1x1 bridge and a different one for a lowered 1x1 bridge.

If you don't have the room for a larger and more visually readable bridge, build one somewhere nearby and link it to the same lever as the small bridge. It'll do nothing but act as an indicator.