Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: What are your overseer preferences?  (Read 2936 times)

mek42

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
What are your overseer preferences?
« on: August 24, 2013, 07:17:00 pm »

I'm also a hobbyist wood worker (with the labors wood hauling and furniture hauling enabled as we move into our new house with the speed of a teetotaling dwarf) and I prefer broadleaf forests to coniferous.  In fact, I'm strongly considering an 8 by 8 embark just to get some hardwoods on my map, so I can make hardwood beds and use softwoods for bins and burning.

This would actually be a micromanagement challenge for me to segregate hard and softwoods by task - I suppose I would need to have different stockpiles.  I could manually order bin production at the carpenter's workshop near the softwood stockpile.  I suppose the military could use softwood beds so I could (m)anage bed production.  Then the apprentice carpenters would be limited to the softwood workshops and then graduate into hardwood carpenters.

Anyhow, do you folks have any preferences that influence how you play the game but that don't really impact the gameplay?  (Preferring iron to exist at embark doesn't count because that effects the gameplay).
"Is that the game with the blinky characters and no pictures?  Maybe you do have Asperger's." - My wife after I mentioned my excitement over the elves bringing by caravan a whole bunch of wood after my deforestation project was neglected due to a near-tantrum spiral and total loss of my initial seven and a bunch of immigrants.

Drazinononda

• Bay Watcher
  • I'm really too normal to play this game so much.`
    • View Profile
Re: What are your overseer preferences?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2013, 09:14:07 pm »