Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Weird weregiraffe  (Read 5400 times)

Nagelfar^^

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Weird weregiraffe
« on: June 13, 2013, 08:16:43 am »

Let me start by introducing myself..
Hi I'm Nagelfar^^. Like many of you I was drawn into the world of DF by random chance. First I read a long post on 4chan, a timelog of a fortress. Weirdly compelling  :)
then boatmurdered, community stories, and so forth.

Well, i'm still a newbie with capitol N  :P Haven't even gone cave exploring yet.

But.. something weird happened last night. At first my first human caravan arrived (my 8th real game or so) which got me excited. mere moments later this happened:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)
Oh shit.. I was only just entering my second year in the fortress, and only got a rudimentary military.
I was moving goods to the depot when the scary giraffe appeared and I decided not to let it interfere. perhaps it was just wandering about? anyway the human caravan would die first if it decided to attack.

In a timespan of roughly 1:30 minuttes IRL the weregiraffe appeared, slayed a potter, transformed into a goblin and left the map *snap*
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Soo.. is that normal? I was preparing to be locked in a long time.. and in a matter of seconds it's just gone. I was hoping for a bit of !!FUN!!
Nothing is more graphical than a person's imagination, which is the graphics card that DF uses.

Knight Otu

• Bay Watcher
  • ☺4[
    • View Profile
Re: Weird weregiraffe
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2013, 09:16:47 am »

Yeah, werebeasts tend to try and come and go quickly - they only get the three days of the full moon for their attacks, and in fortress mode, that's a short time frame.
Direforged Original
Random Raw Scripts - Randomly generated Beasts , Vermin, Hags, Vampires, and Civilizations
Castle Otu

Hamsmagoo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile