Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Siege Size and population  (Read 2155 times)

Afghani84

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Siege Size and population
« on: June 12, 2013, 05:36:49 pm »

Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to the game, so I'm thinking of capping my population at 100 or so until I feel comfortable to deal with even more lazy alcoholics. I'm not trying to take away the "fun" of the game but it gets overwhelming pretty fast with some migrant waves if you're not familiar with most of the aspects of the game.

The question is whether that would be detrimental for me in the end or not. I've been trying to find information on factors influencing siege sizes. Some threads say that sieges become bigger and more frequent with increasing wealth. Is there a population factor in there as well? So the more dwarves you have, the more goblins/elves/humans will attack? Or maybe a time factor? The longer your fortress stands, the harder the other civilizations try to make your area dwarf-free again?

If the siege size is population-based, the cap would not be detrimental to my capacity to defend the fortress. If wealth is the factor, I should see that I slowly increase the cap as I dig down deeper and find more ores...not that bad either. But if it is based on time, the cap would be really detrimental. I wouldn't get new dwarves while my enemies rise in numbers.

Anyone know what factors come to play here? Maybe something I didn't think of?
Thanks

Merendel

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Siege Size and population
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2013, 05:53:30 pm »