Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Floodgates best/only remote door/airlock?  (Read 1294 times)

foil

• Bay Watcher
  • Yarr!
    • View Profile
Floodgates best/only remote door/airlock?
« on: May 26, 2013, 11:08:52 am »

Hi there, ive been playing for a few years now so not a total noob, just a bit noob now.  Are floodgates the only real way to have remote doors/seals or is there other things that could be used instead?

I thought floodgates were something (irl) for waterways yet it seems to be the best thing(that i know of) for remote locking of areas/passages..

Is there anything else to use or are floodgates the main way to do these things?

Thx for look, foil

Graknorke

• Bay Watcher
  • A bomb's a bad choice for close-range combat.
    • View Profile
Re: Floodgates best/only remote door/airlock?
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2013, 11:11:14 am »

Doors?
Cultural status:
Depleted          ☐
Enriched          ☑

Loud Whispers

• Bay Watcher
  • They said we have to aim higher, so we dug deeper.
    • View Profile
    • I APPLAUD YOU SIRRAH
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2013, 11:13:15 am »

Bridges are more secure, although they take more time to set up and aren't instantaneously opened shut [not really a problem except on microscale projects. Hatches and doors coupled with strategic placing can create indestructible posterns, and can be linked to levers. Floodgates are just one of many useful dividers.

foil

• Bay Watcher
  • Yarr!
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2013, 11:21:26 am »

Can you link doors to levers and are they able to stop enemies coming in during raids?

It was mostly for remote closure of the entrances to the fort or traps for dealing with raids.

EDIT:
Damn it it says on the wiki lol, i take it they are as effective as floodgates at stopping ai except building destroyers
« Last Edit: May 26, 2013, 11:25:21 am by foil »

Graknorke

• Bay Watcher