Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: What now?  (Read 1556 times)

firsal

• Bay Watcher
  • A thin creature prone to great ambition
    • View Profile
What now?
« on: May 08, 2013, 01:59:45 am »

Hi. I'm new to DF and I've just made my first 'successful' fortress of around 100 dwarves. I have bedrooms, dining halls, sculpture gardens, barracks and militia, decked out with full armor, smoothened out the whole fort and even a watchtower.

First question: I find that a lot of my dwarves, some 10-20 of them are just always idle and not doing stuff, while the rest are either storing stuff in piles or actually doing something productive, the earlier is more common. Am I doing something wrong, or not doing something at all?

Second question: I find that most of my dwarves are farmers. Now I don't mind 5 or 6 of them but, 16? That's way too much. What should I do with the extra dwarves? I'm pretty sure my other industries are not lacking, or I have no need for that industry at all.

Third question: I just had my first goblin ambush, and I lost 2 dwarves, a cook and swords dwarf, while taking out only one of the attacking goblins. Is there any way I can do better?

Thanks in advance.

fricy

• Bay Watcher
  • [DFHACK:ZEALOT]
    • View Profile
Re: What now?
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2013, 02:33:54 am »

1. Personally I like about 10% of my workforce to be idle, so I always have someone to pull a lever. Very important in case of emergencies...

2. Use dwarf therapist to manage your dwarfs, 16 farmers may be good or bad depending on your industries. If you have lot's of ores to smelt set some of those farmers to furnace operators. Or conscript them into your army. Or set up a cloth industry and get those farmers to grow pig tails. etc.

3. Oh, there's always room for improvement. :)

Caldfir

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2013, 02:52:27 am »