Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Questions about an idea for a CPU-friendly fortress  (Read 3136 times)

csp256

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Questions about an idea for a CPU-friendly fortress
« on: April 27, 2013, 06:03:38 pm »

I heard that FPS-death puts a soft-cap on the number of dwarves you can have, so I thought it would be fun to design a CPU-friendly fortress without sacrificing dwarfpower (industrial efficiency). Obviously these are somewhat conflicting objectives. So far I've set invaders off and am solely exploring fortress-building, for now [I know, I know: that's not very dwarven of me].

I'm very new to DF and would like some help from more experienced players in refining this idea.

My idea relies primarily on trying to optimize pathfinding. I intend to try to do this by keeping the search horizon small (average number of nodes expanded/evaluated per search). I intend to do this by isolating functional elements of the fortress's industries. For example, imagine a fortress which was a series of disconnected cubes (or any connection between them had a very high travel cost). Each cube specialized in some aspect(s) of the economy. They would take some inputs from one or more cubes (nodes), and give outputs to one or more nodes. Automated minecarts would be used to do this, in hopes that the track simplifies their pathfinding (I'm still unsure of exactly how minecarts work).