Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Trouble with Embark profiles  (Read 1573 times)

semm11

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Trouble with Embark profiles
« on: March 06, 2013, 01:02:57 pm »

Hi, I'm pretty new to the game and I have a question or two about embark profiles

1) Is there any way to save the custom profession titles along with the profile?  Its hard to remember what skills the Dwarves each have otherwise

2) How important is it for the dwarves to have attributes in line with their skills?  Every time I make a new set of 7 dwarves, the one with the right attributes to be a good broker, for instance, might not be the same # on the list.

3)  whats with the errors when loading a profile?  What causes it not to save all my equipment or skills?

Thanks in advance!

i2amroy

• Bay Watcher
  • Cats, ruling the world one dwarf at a time
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble with Embark profiles
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2013, 01:08:59 pm »

1)Not that I know of.
2)In general for most professions:
skill level > attributes > preferences
The few exceptions are with legendary military and the like, where attributes determine the maximum cap on how powerful the dwarves can become (of course a legendary well equipped military dwarf can still wipe the floor with most enemies, so the point is probably moot).
3)The errors occur when a civilization doesn't have access to the requested items. For example not all civilizations might have access to iron, or to a particular stone or plant that you requested. this will cause those errors to appear when the embark profile requests those items.
Quote from: PTTG
It would be brutally difficult and probably won't work. In other words, it's absolutely dwarven!
Cataclysm: Dark Days Ahead - A fun zombie survival rougelike that I'm dev-ing for.

Xinael

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2013, 01:20:55 pm »