Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: DF in 2006...  (Read 1230 times)

Habsfan1997

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
DF in 2006...
« on: February 18, 2013, 09:24:25 pm »

I am new to Dwarf Fortress and I like this game so much  :D I searched some informations about it, and found that the game has been released in 2006.I also saw on this forum that this game requires a powerful computer.But does the computers in 2006 were able to run this game normaly ?

Thank you  :D !

FearfulJesuit

• Bay Watcher
  • True neoliberalism has never been tried
    • View Profile
Re: DF in 2006...
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2013, 09:38:19 pm »

You kids and your newfangled computers. Why, back in my day, we had to animate the framerate by turning a crank! And you had to upload your saves by mule train, uphill both ways!

@Footjob, you can microwave most grains I've tried pretty easily through the microwave, even if they aren't packaged for it.

Putnam

• Bay Watcher
  • DAT WIZARD
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2013, 09:45:17 pm »

The game has gotten exponentially complex just as the computers have.

Actually, the game runs better now than it used to, I think. 500 FPS on embark is not uncommon at all; 1000-2000 FPS on embark is standard for modern computers.

TomatoWalrus

• Bay Watcher
  • I am one of the tomatos.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2013, 09:56:56 pm »

The game has gotten exponentially complex just as the computers have.

Actually, the game runs better now than it used to, I think. 500 FPS on embark is not uncommon at all; 1000-2000 FPS on embark is standard for modern computers.

^Without an FPS cap.