Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Camera Obscura - my game on Steam Greenlight  (Read 1065 times)

bmaczero

• Bay Watcher
  • Smokie, Tame Parakeet (On Head)
    • View Profile
    • I make games
Camera Obscura - my game on Steam Greenlight
« on: January 28, 2013, 04:30:57 pm »

Hi Bay12ers,

Long-time DF player and amateur game developer here.  I'm a big fan of Toady's work as a game dev.  In ten years, I would love to be where he is, sitting on a really nice, original game idea and developing it full-time.

I wanted to share a game I've been working on for almost two years with a small group of students from UC Irvine.  It's an indie puzzle-platformer called Camera Obscura.  Camera Obscura revolves around a unique mechanic that allows the player to activate a camera flash so bright that it creates "afterimages" of all visible platforms. These platforms are solid enough to walk on, and they can be moved around for a short time, mimicking the player's movements. This ability allows players to cross wide chasms, reach high platforms, and otherwise alter the shape of the environment to accomplish the ultimate goal - reaching the top of the mysterious Tower. Check out this gameplay footage to get a better idea: Youtube.

We posted the game to Steam Greenlight just last week.  It seems like we're making pretty good progress, and we're really excited about the chance to be published by Steam!  If you want to check it out and possibly support us by voting the game up, you can check out the Greenlight page here:
Camera Obscura | Steam Greenlight

NEW: Download the demo here!
Demo Installer (Recommended)
Demo ZIP

Here's a screenshot (you can see more on Greenlight):

The game also has a full, custom soundtrack by the amazing Trenton Ng, and we've shared a few of the tracks here if you want to check them out:
Soundtrack