Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Some Newbie Questions  (Read 1300 times)

Urist McWhovian

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Some Newbie Questions
« on: September 21, 2012, 09:54:05 pm »

I started playing adventure mode a couple of days ago, and have kinda gotten used to the controls. I have a couple things that I'd love some help with:

1. How do you find a vampire when someone gives you a quest to kill one? I keep getting quests for vampires, but I can never find them.
2. Will people in a human fortress get mad at me if I take the stuff that's lying around inside the fort?

Any help is much appreciated!
-Urist McWhovian

XXSockXX

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Some Newbie Questions
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2012, 10:02:42 pm »

1. Some vampires have lairs and you can kill those. If you get a quest to kill a dwarf vampire (often the king or queen) who lives in a mountainhome, you can't kill them because in the current version only human sites actually exist. This is going to change in the next version, but currently you will only see the *** symbol indicating that you are at a dwarven site, but nothing will be there. Still you can retire your adventurer there.

2. Anything that has not the $ symbol (that's the traders stuff) is free to take. Fortresses and keeps are great to get some free equipment, especially if you're human.

Urist McWhovian

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2012, 10:11:31 pm »

Thank you!!

-Urist McWhovian

Scow2

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2012, 04:39:04 pm »

If the vampire is in a town, though, asking about "Service" in that town the first time will direct you toward the vampire - once you find the right building (The inhabitants won't tell you to check out another building), you just have to ask around until you match the names.

Rallan

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile